FR - NL - EN
Archives I presume?
As soon as 1 July 1885, lands unprocessed by the indigenous population were considered state property. These large-scale compulsory acquisition began only to yield results after 1892, when Leopold II introduced the domanial system. According to this system, the land was subdivided in three zones: the private state domain, the crown domain of the Sovereign and a part granted as concession to private individuals and companies in exchange for a share in the equity stake. copy of a letter about vacant grounds, 1888.
NAB, Archives Hubert Droogmans, no. 3.